Children's Passenger Safety Week is Sept. 19-25.
Your child should be in the proper child passenger seat, according to Pasadena Police Department.
September 19-25 is Child Passenger Safety Week, which educates parents and caregivers on selecting, installing, and using a child safety seat.
"Your plate is always full as a parent, but the goal for this week is to remind parents and caregivers to take the time to make children are as safe as possible in the car," Pasadena Police Department Commander Mark Goodman explained.
"Anyone with questions about car seats is encouraged to call Traffic Section Sergeant Sam De Sylva at 626-744-7415. We are glad to assist in answering questions regarding this very important topic.”
Nearly half of car seats (46%) are misused, says the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).
According to California law, a child must be properly secured in a safety seat until they are at least 8 years old. A properly fitted safety belt is required for children aged 8 and older who are at least 4 feet, 9 inches tall. If your child is under 2 years old, they must ride rear-facing or until they are 40 pounds or 40 inches tall. You can find more information at the California Office of Traffic Safety's website: https://www.ots.ca.gov/.
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration grants funding to the California Office of Traffic Safety for this program.